• team

  • JUHSD Board of Trustees

    The Daly City Youth Health Center (DCYHC) reports to the Jefferson Union High School District (JUHSD) Board of Trustees. A listing of the current JUHSD Board of Trustees can be found here.

    DCYHC Core Team

    The DCYHC Core Team is composed of both San Mateo Medical Center (SMMC) and JUHSD Leadership, who are responsible for ensuring that our youth receive the highest quality of care and services, and overall improving the health of the community. The Core Team works in collaboration with their partner clinics, Daly City Health Center and South San Francisco Health Center, and ensure that the transition from youth to adult is seamless and youth-centered.

    Core Team Members

    Janet Chaikind
    Supervising Physician - Pediatrics

    Jonathan Portney
    Executive Director, Daly City Youth Health Center

    Steven Needels
    Clinic Manager

    Mithu Tharayil
    Staff Physician

    Adela Ruiz
    Patient Services Supervisor

    Sarah Wiese
    Charge Nurse

    DCYHC Advisory Council

    The DCYHC has an Advisory Council which meets every other month. They advise on programmatic changes, personnel changes and the budget. They also help with fundraising and event planning.

    Advisory Council Members

    Denise Brown
    Recreation Services Manager, Daly City Library and Recreation Services

    Melissa Ambrose
    Wellness Coordinator, JUHSD

    Carla Ng-Garrett
    Board Trustee, Jefferson Union High School District

    Denise Shreve
    District Career Technical Education & Health Lead, JUHSD

    Julie Sims
    Sr. Director of Marketing and Communications, Room to Read

    Karla Talkoff
    Wellness and School Counselor, Thornton High School

    Christine Thorsteinson
    Research & Program Coordinator, Silicon Valley Community Foundation

    Tina VanRaaphorst
    Associate Superintendent, Jefferson Union High School District
    Dawn Hope
    Owner, Living Room Plant Co., Pacifica

    DCYHC Honorary Council

    The DCYHC Honorary Council consists of many distinguished community leaders who have advocated on behalf of DCYHC and have donated their time, money and energy. These members are consulted for their opinions and advice.

    Honorary Council Members

    David Canepa
    Daly City Council Member

    Janet Chaikind
    Medical Director of Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine

    Pamela Cook
    Founder and Principal, Pamela Cook Development Search

    Carol Forest
    DCYHC Co-Founder

    Jordan Kanis
    Vice President of Commercial Banking, Sonoma Bank

    DCYHC Youth Advisory Council (YAC)

    The Youth Advisory Council serves as a link between youth of Northern San Mateo County and DCYHC. YAC’s main functions are to ensure programs and services are current with the needs and trends of the community, and to promote DCYHC’s programs and services.

    Get to know the DCYHC Staff

  • Donate